Spoilers

Here’s a question for everyone out there – how do you feel about spoilers?

I am generally of the opinion that spoilers are a problem.  I don’t want to know the story (be it a movie, TV show or book) in advance.  A spoiler won’t keep me from enjoying the tale that was spoiled, but I’ll be a bit grouchy about it for a while.

Some people don’t mind.  I told my best friend about a scene in The Avengers that was particularly funny before he saw the movie.  We saw it together today (me for the second time and him for the first) and he laughed at the scene even though he knew it was coming.  (To be fair, I did ask permission to share said spoiler and he gave it, so it wasn’t quite the same as the person who ruined Sixth Sense for me.)

One of my coworkers was very irritated with me about the end of Dragon, and in her frustration ended up spoiling the end for several other coworkers.  We had to be very careful around the office when the Hunger Games books were making the rounds, because a lot of us wanted to discuss them but many others hadn’t read them yet.  Generally when I share a spoiler, I try to give fair warning so that people who don’t want to know can skip that part of my blog.

How do you feel about spoilers?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Stuart
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 20:43:03

    I thought it was common practice to always warn about spoilers…it’s just the polite thing to do 🙂

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Jun 18, 2012 @ 21:15:59

    If it’s a book or movie I never planned to read or watch, go ahead. But if I’ve invested myself in taking the long route from beginning to end, I don’t want anyone spilling secrets that I’d otherwise have reached in aforesaid secrets’ own good time — *especially* if the person just blurts it out, without even thinking to ask whether I might not want to hear it. It’s called a “spoiler” for a pretty obvious reason: For some of us, it spoils our experience!

    Reply

  3. Nicole W.
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 17:42:40

    I am the same way, spoilers won’t stop me from watching or reading something, but it does irk me. I also hate how people always have to ask “Have you gotten to the part where….”, when they want to find out where you are in a book. I have broken several people of the habit and got them to ask “Where are you in the book?” instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

