Asking too much of my internet connection

I have slow internet.

I’ve tried to troubleshoot it, as well as considering upgrading to a faster connection.  It turns out that I am getting what I pay for, and it is the fastest available at my location.  So I’ve mostly made it work.

Tonight I asked too much.  I had a TV show running on Netflix when I opened three browser windows simultaneously to check email, blog, and log in to Facebook.

For about 2 minutes, everything was blank while they all tried to load at once.  Have I mentioned before that I’m not a very patient person?

It’s a good thing I had a book nearby to distract me while the technology took its time.  🙂  I’m hoping that faster internet is available soon…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 19:34:51

    Well, if that doesn’t just sound eerily like my life…
    Having distracting books nearby definitely helps — particularly as I currently have more books than patience. Learning to intimately know one’s internet’s limits *before* all your tabs crash is also helpful; at least once you know going in things are going to be slow, there aren’t [as m]any maddening surprises.

    Reply

  2. Tammy
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 07:49:37

    Every time I get frustrated with internet, I remind myself of when I had dial up and had to turn in on, leave for a while, come back, open something up, leave for a while, etc….helps put it in perspective for me. I’m not patient either. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

