Irritated Reader

One of my coworkers just finished reading Dragon, and she gave me quite a scolding this morning.  Needless to say, she didn’t like the ending.

She was really rather irritated with me about it, in fact.

Now, I won’t spoil the end for you, but I will tell you that her irritation pleased me for two reasons.  (When I told her it made me happy, she gave me a dirty look.)

The first reason it was a good reaction is that it means she finished the book.  She doesn’t read a lot, and is not a fantasy reader, so she obviously enjoyed it enough to finish it.  She also told me that, with the exception of the end, she did like the book.  (Her cameo as a mermaid amused her, which is what I was hoping.)

The second reason is that her frustration reaffirms my ability to write.  Why, you ask?  Because I developed a character that she cared enough about to become passionately upset when the ending of the book was not what she wanted for him.  I work hard on my character development, and it means a lot to me when my readers feel that connected to the people in the story.

It seems odd to be happy that I irritated a friend and reader, but I am.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 18:27:47

    Way to see the bright side. (:

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Ways to Die « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

