Signs of Summer

I had sweet corn for dinner tonight.  I love sweet corn, and to me, it’s a great sign of summer.

Of course, it’s been in the 90’s for the past several days, so I don’t really need food to remind me that the heat has arrived.  (Summer is not my favorite season.)  For tonight, however, I am choosing to focus on the positives of summer.

Summer is the season of fresh, beautiful fruits and veggies.  Besides sweet corn (which I love) there are heirloom tomatoes, watermelon, peaches, strawberries, zucchini… the list goes on and on.  I adore the produce of summer, especially if I can get it fresh-picked from a farmer’s market or roadside stand.

There are lovely long days.  Unlike the winter, the sun is almost up when I go to work, and I still have several hours of daylight after I get home.  (In an effort to stay positive, I’m going to ignore the fact that this means the heat lasts longer.)

Hopefully, unless this is another drought year, summer means thunderstorms.  I love a good thunderstorm, with lightning and lots of rain.

Summer has its good aspects, and I’m looking forward to taking advantage of them.  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. susielindau
    May 29, 2012 @ 22:18:18

    We have had such a long spring here in Colorado, I expect summer to feel much longer too! I look forward to eating many ears of corn!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

