Now I Need a Plot…

I’m getting pretty good at creating characters.  It’s odd, because I don’t have to think about creating them; often they spring, nearly fully formed, into my imagination.  Other times I go through the process of developing them, but either way, characters are not my challenge.

Apparently it’s the plot that can be the problem.

I’ve got two characters, likely the main characters, for my NaNo novel.  As I mentioned yesterday, they’re helping me fall asleep.  Admittedly, one is developing more easily than the other, but it will still work out okay.

Other than how the two of them meet, and a little bit of back story, I have no idea what the plot of this novel is going to be.  There is an obvious, easy, done-before kind of plot option, but I don’t want to use it.  Perhaps the problem is that I’m focusing too much on the female, fantasy character rather than the male, human character – maybe the story to tell isn’t hers, it’s his.  The challenge may also come from the avoidance of the obvious plot; since that one keeps coming up, maybe I’m trying too hard to avoid it and so pushing all plot options out of my head.

I’m really glad I have a few months before this becomes a true issue!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie West
    May 28, 2012 @ 15:47:29

    I think you’ve hit on something with it being his story to tell. I think it could add a fresh perspective to a story, and it’s not something you see done *too* often. Why not write a sample chapter of each? Tell it from hers and then go back and tell it from his. Doesnt have to be the first chapter, but a small to mid sized sample to get an idea of the flow. Hope all goes well!

    Reply

  2. Zen
    May 28, 2012 @ 16:21:14

    I’ve often created novels just for the sake of inserting some characters that have been haunting me. You could try to put them in various situations and see where they fit the most!

    Reply

  3. deshipley
    May 28, 2012 @ 17:56:39

    I usually start with characters first, too. And then if I stare at them long enough (read: babble to myself about them in brainstorming mode), the plot will grow out from them.

    Reply

  4. mjgriffor
    May 28, 2012 @ 20:06:14

    I’ve never been able to produce characters or a plot independent of the other. The two work hand in hand to build their own story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

