Writing myself to sleep

When I moved to Texas, it was the first time in my life that I had lived alone.  Up until then I’d had roommates or housemates; my first apartment in Texas was entirely mine.

As a 22-year-old, that was a bit intimidating.  It took a bit to get to sleep, mostly because as I tried my mind replayed all the horrible things that can happen to a young woman living alone.  (It probably didn’t help that I watched a lot of crime drama TV.)  To sleep, I needed a distraction, and I found that distraction in creating characters.

Two of the characters of Dragon were the result.  In fact, I know a lot more about those two characters than what appears in the book, thanks to those nights.

The past few days my mind has been running a mile a minute when I try to sleep.  I’m not thinking about possible criminal activity; instead, I’m worrying about the future.  Thankfully, I have the two characters I’ve started developing for my NaNo novel.  Those two have an odd relationship, and playing with their first interactions is very distracting.  It’s working pretty well to help me fall asleep.  And yes, I know that it’s May and NaNo is in November, but the rules allow character sketches and a story outline.  I might not remember the conversations exactly, but I’ll remember the general concept.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    May 27, 2012 @ 22:35:39

    Beats counting sheep, any night! …Unless you happen to be crafting a sheep character — which, take it all ’round, is not entirely implausible, for such as we.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

