Consolidating the Bookshelf

Awhile ago I did some purging of my stuff.  I felt the need to simplify my life, so I got rid of a bunch of stuff, including books.  I ended up with enough books left that I still needed both bookcases to hold them all, albeit with a few empty shelves.  Most of what I kept were books that I figured I would read again.

I reconsidered that statement last week.  If I was honest with myself, I realized that many of the books I kept were not going to get read again any time soon, if ever.  So I went through and pulled a bunch more books off the shelves.  I’ve even picked three to read a second time with the intent of getting rid of them once I’ve read them.

I’m glad to say that, with the exception of my school yearbooks, every book I own now fits on one bookshelf, with a little room left for a few additions.

Getting rid of books is never easy, but I’m glad that they all fit in one place now.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    May 20, 2012 @ 18:54:52

    I’m a total book hoarder so I’m really happy to read that other people aren’t and you can share your books with other people and give them away. It’s really lovely, I wish I wasn’t so selfish about books.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      May 20, 2012 @ 20:53:52

      It’s weird, because until recently I was also a book hoarder. I have vivid memories of the handful of times I was forced, as a child, to get rid of books because my bookcases were full. I’m not sure when the switch happened, but I’m grateful for it.

      Reply

  2. YerMom
    May 21, 2012 @ 07:19:21

    Wow, that is quite the accomplishment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

