Prep for NaNo – New Characters!

NaNoWriMo starts 6 months from tomorrow, and I’ve already started mentally preparing for it.

Last year I didn’t even know about NaNo until a week or so before it started.  I signed up to participate 3 days in advance of the opening day.  Fortunately, I had an existing story idea that I could work with and I wrote 50,000 words of Life in Dreams in 29 days.

I don’t have an existing story idea (other than Chasing, which is going to have to simmer on the back burner for a while longer) so the sight of the winner’s certificate from last year made me start to worry about this year.  I decided to start contemplating ideas, so perhaps when November rolls around I’ll have something to kick-start the writing.

Once I set my creativity a task, it usually delivers.  This time was no different.  Last night I decided on my main characters!  I don’t know their names, or much of their story.  All I’ve got so far is a conversation between them and a little bit of background for one of them.  It doesn’t matter, though, since now that I’ve met them I can start finding out more.  I’m not too worried about it yet, since I have six months to develop my idea!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 16:29:42

    Awesome! New character discovery’s always exciting business. No idea which direction my NaNo will go, yet. I’ve got some ideas sitting around, but I’m thinking I’ll probably start totally fresh with something new (and something that I feel I can draft fast). Here’s to looking forward to the next round of November noveling!

    Reply

  2. Craig
    May 01, 2012 @ 16:19:23

    Dibs on being a first reader!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A Rush of Inspiration « Butterflies and Dragons
  4. Trackback: NaNo is getting closer… « Butterflies and Dragons
  5. Trackback: Should I Stay Up? « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

