Is Writing Glamorous?

I watched a silly romantic comedy this morning that had been recommended by Netflix.  It was an acceptable movie, although I probably won’t watch it again.  The reason that I’m even mentioning it is that it follows a trend/formula that hits close to home.

The main character is a writer.

She’s a magazine writer, rather than a novelist, but still a writer.  This got me thinking, and I went to my DVD collection to take a look.  While it’s not as common as my initial reaction, I own a handful of movies that use writing (in some form) as part of the plot. Alex & Emma.  How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.  27 Dresses. All of these have a major character who is a writer which plays a large role in the development (or obstacles) of the relationship.

There are variations on writing, of course.  Magazine columnist.  Newspaper journalist.  Novelist.  It’s interesting to see how often these professions make an appearance in movies.  While the likely cause is that it makes for a good plot device, I’m going to comfort myself with the thought that perhaps a bit of it is due to the glamorous nature of writing.  😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. curiousitykitty
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 12:28:20

    Yes, this makes so much sense (and it goes a long way to explain why I secretly adore 27 Dresses… well, that, and the Katherine Heigl/ James Marsden’s rendition ‘Bennie and The Jets’)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

