4 Reasons My Blog Won’t Ever Be Freshly Pressed

For those of you who are unfamiliar with WordPress (which I’m guessing is a minority, since most of my followers are fellow bloggers), there is a display of blog posts that appears when you go to the main WordPress webpage to log in.  These are called Freshly Pressed.  For some bloggers, being featured is a common occurrence; for many others, it’s a major event.  It brings new readers to your blog.  One post on Freshly Pressed can end up with over 100 likes, if it does well.  I’ve paid some attention to what ends up Freshly Pressed, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I won’t end up on that page.  Here are four reasons why.

1. I don’t usually post pictures.  Most, although not all, of the Freshly Pressed posts feature at least one picture.  This picture is used to catch your eye on the Freshly Pressed page.  I have two photo rules that keep my photos to a minimum, and will thus keep me off of Freshly Pressed.  I only post a picture if it is truly applicable to my post, and I only post pictures that are mine to post.  (I broke this second rule once, early on, but I’ve stuck to it since.)  Since I write mostly about writing, my blog is typically picture-free.

2. I don’t write about travel or cooking.  I have posted a couple of travel-type blogs (specifically about the Galapagos), but this is not a travel blog.  This is also not a cooking blog, so I don’t post recipes.  On any given day, Freshly Pressed usually includes at least one travel post and one food/cooking post.  This weekend there were eleven exotic-locale posts (they were also filling art and photography and family roles, but still set in exotic locations) and 2 food posts.  Rule me out for those spaces!

3. I’m not a household name.  This blog is steadily growing in popularity.  I have followers, and I get new ones on a regular basis.  This doesn’t mean, however, that Butterflies and Dragons is a recognizable blog name.  Often the blogs on Freshly Pressed already have a large reader base, meaning that the title of the blog alone (listed under the title of the post) will get people to click on it.  I’m not there yet.

4. I’m not particularly funny or clever.  This could really be two reasons, but I’ve lumped them together.  Yes, I’m reasonably good at wording a sentence to explain something in a unique way, and I think that I have achieved a certain level of self-deprecation in some of my posts.  This doesn’t mean that I write humor.  That’s the first part, because funny posts get Freshly Pressed.  The second part is that I haven’t come up with a clever post that’s caught the attention of those in charge of selection.  Even a mildly humorous person can write a clever post; perhaps I can think of something that might be Press-worthy.  I’ve decided, though, to simply enjoy the blogs that do make it to Freshly Pressed status, and focus on writing what I want to and what I think my readers will enjoy, not what I think will catch someone’s attention.

When I first started blogging, I wanted to find a way to make it to Freshly Pressed.  Now I’m content to simply find a way to keep my readers interested.  Perhaps it’s a sign of maturity.  We’ll say that, and not that I’m giving up.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 19:00:20

    I still hold onto a mild hope that I’ll one day be Freshly Pressed…but I know better than to count on it, and I’m not actively working toward it. I’m not a “write to the market” person; I write what I like, try to do it well, put it out there, and hope for the best. Ya-a-ay, I’m mature, too! (*laughs and laughs and laughs…*)

    Reply

  2. Kate Ferguson Writes
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 04:54:17

    I wonder how Freshly Pressed works. There’s no way that wordpress employees could possibly sift through all the hundreds of thousands of posts that appear each day. I would love to be Freshly Pressed aswell but I think it’s simply a matter of the chances being very slim! However, we shall “press on” for love rather thna fame 🙂

    Reply

  3. creativitypending
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 01:15:02

    Haha. I can’t lie, I’ve had dreams of Freshly Presseddom as well, but I don’t think it will happen. Mine is a very new blog. I’d had a different one for a while, but I didn’t like where it was going, so I started a new one with a completely different focus. And here I am back at square one without even a comment yet on any of my new posts. Being Freshly Pressed is definitely beyond my reach, but I won’t let that discourage me. I write for my own reasons, and if someone else happens to relate to them, that’s dandy. If not, I’ll keep on writing for me and enjoy it!

    (If you should want to check out my blog, don’t judge it by the stiffness of the first three posts. I’m still trying to transition out of the research-based writing I’m so used to.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

