Borrowing Books

I am nice to books, generally.  At least that’s what I think until I borrow someone else’s book, and I catch all of the things that I do to my own books that I would never do to a friend’s book.

Here are my crimes against book-kind, which I am careful not to commit when in possession of another’s book:

I read while eating.  This actually entails two crimes – flattening out the book (if it’s not a one-hander) and inevitably getting food on the book somewhere.  I do not read borrowed books while eating.

I shove books into bags that are very snug.  I have a couple of purses that are fine for a paperback, but not a hardback.  I will, on occasion, wedge a small hardback into said purses.  I also have a messenger bag that is a bit snug for a large hardback, but I’ll use it anyway.  With my own books, that is.

I toss books short distances.  Of course I don’t throw books across the room!  I will, however, toss them onto the bed or couch from a short distance; from time to time I misjudge the toss and the book hits the target before sliding to the floor.  Oops.

I set books on questionable surfaces.  There have been a few (rare) moments where I set a book on a wet countertop or a dirty table.  A recliner armrest is also not a great place to put a book, as they tend to slide off.  Let me reiterate that this is with my own books, not those of others!

Kelly, I am taking exceedingly good care of your copy of The Hunger Games. I am not participating in any of the above activities with your book.  I promise that I will return it in the condition I found it, which is excellent.  And if I don’t, well, then I’ll return a brand new copy.  🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theo Black
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 18:38:47

    I love books. A Kindle will never have the feel, the smell, the softness of a book.

    Reply

  2. A Novel Place
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 18:52:41

    This made me laugh because I am just like you. I swear, left-right-up-down, that I look after my books but upon reading your habits, I realized I do all those things. Ah! I don’t borrow books often (thankfully) but I pity anyone’s book I do borrow because there’s no telling what harm may come to their possessions… Kidding! I do try to take care, but I am known for stuffing a book into my already-too-full backpack on a daily basis. Oddly enough, my books hardly ever look badly used. Woot, go me.

    Reply

  3. Katy
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 19:58:25

    Ha ha ha! This is so me! I’m not terribly precious about my own books either…I actually prefer them to look a little ‘loved’!

    Reply

  4. Beverly
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 21:47:45

    Fun. When I was younger, I used to read in the bathtub. I can’t remember how many I “rippled.” And I still spill on books while I eat.

    Reply

  5. YerMom
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 09:31:37

    I look forward to your comments on the Hunger Games!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

