Dog Gone Crazy

My dog lost his mind last night.

Technically, it was this morning.  I was sleeping an odd schedule so I would be better able to work an odd schedule today.  (I have to work an evening event tonight, so everything will be off.)  EIther way, my dog went a little crazy.

He decided that the bedroom was terrifying.

He woke me up by trying to climb onto the bed and my face.  He tried several times before I finally woke up completely and realized that he had moved on to trying to climb the wall.  He was really freaked out.

When we left the room he was okay.  We went for a quick walk and he was perfectly willing to go back in the apartment, just not the bedroom.  I made him come in at one point and let him on the bed.  I thought maybe that was all he wanted.  He spent the next five minutes shaking before he tried, once again, to climb on my head.

The dog and I spent several hours sleeping in the living room.

I know that dogs can hear and smell things that we can’t, so I thought maybe there was something there that was really worth his fear.  I decided to play it safe, at least for one night.  We moved back into the bedroom mid-morning, when I was planning to get up and get some things done.  I went back to sleep instead.

The funny thing is, I tried to search various concepts related to my dog being freaked out.  Maybe the internet would shed some light where my non-talking dog couldn’t.  Do you want to know what most of the suggestions were?  Ghosts.

That’s right, ghosts.  Not poisonous gas, not invading pests, ghosts.  That wasn’t helpful.

My best guess is that the fan was making something in the room move/make noise in an unfamiliar way.  That’s all I can think of.

If it happens again tonight, he gets to sleep in the bathroom.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 19:20:14

    Sometimes I can’t tell if dogs only seem insane because we can’t understand their reasoning, or if understanding would only give us further insight into how truly insane they are.

    Reply

  2. Aunt Lynne
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 08:27:19

    Leigh, Snoopy (cocker spaniel) gets a little weird when he notices the ceiling fan running. He starts to back up and growl at it but most of the time he doesn’t notice or I turn it off because it makes me cold. Maybe it’s a dog thing with ceiling fans. I know dogs can be afraid of strange things. My sister had a dog that would go hide if you said “loose duck” to her. Good luck – hope Eli gets over it soon.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 17:06:40

      Thanks for the insight! My best guess is that the neighbor got a new alarm clock, which he can hear and I can’t. We’re going to try some calming suggestions from friends tonight.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

