Notes from the Galapagos

I just got back from the Galapagos Islands, and I am exhausted!  Two travel days each way, plus working outside on Friday and hiking all day on Saturday can do that to a person.

I have two travel-writing style posts planned, which you’ll get later this week, but for now I have a few brief observations.

1. The sky inland is empty. Along the coast there are ever-present frigatebirds, pelicans, and boobies, but inland the sky is free of birds.  I’m used to seeing the occasional bird aloft, be it hawk, vulture, or even swallow, but on Santa Cruz, I saw nothing.

2. If you are going to Galapagos, learn a handful of phrases in Spanish, plus the correct names of your destinations.  The word ‘regresar’ was my favorite word of the trip, as it kept me from being left on a mountain with no transportation!

3. There are very few mammals!  I kept spotting rocks out of the corner of my eye, which my brain turned into squirrels or similar small mammals, but they were not.  It was a bit odd.

As I said, there is more coming, but for now, my pillow is calling…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney Mara
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 17:02:07

    What a cool trip!

    Courtney Mara
    http://CourtneyMara.com

    Reply

  2. skinnywench
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 18:41:19

    I fell for the blue footed boobies – they were amazing

    Reply

  3. Trackback: 4 Reasons My Blog Won’t Ever Be Freshly Pressed « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

