Mom’s Sayings

I had a chuckle-to-myself moment the other day while I was reading Brisingr by Christopher Paolini.  The main character thinks to himself, “If the occasion arises where I need it, I will be more happy to have it than I will be miserable carrying it all the way.”

The reason that I chuckled was because this is a fancy version of my mom’s favorite saying, “It’s better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.”

My mom has a few memorable quotations that my sister and I like to tease her about, because we hear them all the time.  The one above is definitely the best.  Two others are standard responses.  If one of us complains of pain, she immediately asks, “Did you take something?” and if we mention that we saw so-and-so in passing, she replies, “Did you speak to her?”

These types of things are what we hear in our head, even if Mom isn’t around, and they make me smile when I hear (or read) them from someone else’s mouth.  Every mom has something that she repeats frequently.  What does your mom say?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 20:37:16

    Many of my mom’s most oft used catchphrases are not strictly a part of the human tongue (she likes to distort actual words almost past recognition, make them all start with the letter “B”, or spell them out and substitute the real last letter for a “Q”). Among her store of English faves, she’ll often claim “My arm is broken” when asked to do…pretty much anything. And re: my father’s arrival times at home, she’s been heard to announce multiple times a day, “I never know when to expect him. Never.”
    The one I like best is our mutual declaration of affection: “Luvva you.” (Or, alternately, “I luvva.”)
    Moms can be crazy critters. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

