Dog Days, part 4

I’m older now.  I’ve been with Leigh a long time, and since my life’s been happy, much of it blurs in my memory.

I remember friends.  At our first house, I was friends with Radar and Zoey.  Radar’s mom was Leigh’s best friend; she called me Mr. Wrinkles.  Zoey called me skinny dog.  She was a bulldog, and my best friend.  Now I have lots of friends.  Sometimes I go and stay with Illie and Georgia.  We used to live by them, but since we’ve moved I don’t see them as much.  I also like to stay with Duchess, although her mom has cats and I don’t know how I feel about cats.

For a while there was a man in our life.  I wasn’t sure about him at first, but he was friendly and nice to me.  I think after he’d been around us for a few years he got tired of me.  I’m glad I stayed with Leigh, but I was sad to leave him behind.  He didn’t even say goodbye.

Leigh also has a bird, now, although I’ve been with her longer.  The bird throws interesting food on the floor, but he also bites really hard and makes loud noises that hurt my ears.  I don’t really like the bird, but Leigh does, so I leave him alone.

I like living with Leigh.  I have soft things to sleep on (she even lets me sleep with her sometimes) and plenty of food.   I’m still nervous about drinking, and thunder makes me scared when she’s not around, but I have a lot less to be afraid of now.  If I could have one wish it would be that Leigh wouldn’t leave so much, but I know she’ll come back.  She wants me, and she loves me.

Unlike other dogs with a beginning like mine, my story has a happy ending.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Neeks
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 18:11:49

    Dogs are my favorite people! 🙂

    Reply

  2. maggie D.
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:27:29

    You sound like I think a dog might figure things out with the exception of thinking the man left because he didn’t like the dog. It seems if an animal stays with its master or mistress, they care little about what happens to others around them. Just a thought.

    Reply

  3. Laura Wise
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 16:27:58

    I love the feelings that I felt while reading these short excerpts. From joy to tragedy, to happiness again; it was really interesting to read. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

