Dog Days, part 2

Read part 1 here.

It’s amazing how one traumatic event can etch an entire day into your mind.

The day started out exciting.  It was the first time I had ever been to a park.  I had been outside before, but this was a big outside, with lots of activity.  I remember wanting to run, but I was scared, too, so I would run away just a little and then run right back to my mother.  This was a lot of fun for a while, until I saw the squirrel.

I know what it’s called now, but at that point all I knew was that this fluffy thing was really interesting.  When I tried to get close, it ran away from me.  I had to chase it!  We ran across a big, green lawn and then into some trees.  When the squirrel ran up into one, I stood at the bottom.  I was so excited!  I yelled and yelled, “Look!  Look!!”

It was a few minutes before I realized that no one was around.  I ran back to where everyone had been, as quickly as I could, trying to find my mother.

No one was there.  I looked and looked.  I even cried.  But I couldn’t find them.

They might have left me on purpose, or maybe it was an accident.  Either way, they didn’t come back to look for me.  I know, because I stayed in the park for three days, looking for them.  If they had wanted to find me, it would have been easy.

After three days I realized that they didn’t want me.  I was alone.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gentlemantomcat
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 18:18:22

    fascinating beginning to what could be an equally fascinating story. I hope you will continue with it.

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:20:21

    Poor little thing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

