Fascinated with Facts

I am easily impressed by random facts.  When I read an interesting tidbit, my first instinct is to share it.  The same goes for a funny line or cleverly worded sentence in a book.

Today’s interesting and fun fact is from the February National Geographic, which I started reading today because of the dog on the cover.  The article about dog breeds and genetics included this interesting morsel: “If humans varied as much in height [as dog breeds], the smallest would be two feet tall and the tallest would measure some 31 feet.”

My first reaction was “Wow, that’s cool!  Who can I tell?”  I’m not sure why I get so excited about random trivia, or why I have an overwhelming urge to share it, but that’s just part of who I am.  It does probably explain why I enjoy reading non-fiction almost as much as fiction.  I may not know why I have this interest, but I do know where it came from.  My dad is just as fond of factoids as I am. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 15:31:18

    You might get a few two-foot humans, but I’ve yet to hear of one hitting anywhere near 31 feet! The variety of dog breeds is pretty awesome, though. Dogs were an obsession of mine, as a kid; I could have listed a breed for every letter of the alphabet — yes, even for X, I was delighted to find.
    It’s great when one can garner such joy from the little things. (:

    Reply

  2. Jennifer M Eaton
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 18:24:01

    You can work those facts into a great story. Remember that Tom Cruise movie? My husband still quotes the weight of a human head.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

