Rain-Inspired Behavior

It has been overcast and rainy here for most of the day, causing me to think about the behaviors that rain inspires.

Rain makes me want to stay in bed, snuggled up and enjoying the sound of it on the windows.  If I can’t do that, I like to curl up in warm clothes and a blanket on the couch, preferably with a good book.

If I’m feeling energetic, rain sometimes inspires a trip outside, sans umbrella, to play and act silly.  (This harkens back to my childhood, when rain was my favorite weather to play in.)

Rain makes my dog flip out and try to stay as close to me as caninely possible.  This is due to a bad experience he had when he was younger, an experience that was almost entirely my fault and that consisted of him getting stuck on an unfamiliar screened-in porch during a thunderstorm.

Rain makes drivers in Texas forget how to drive.  I counted 6 cars running red lights at just two intersections on my way home.

What behaviors does rain inspire in you?

Leave a Reply

