Reading before Revising

It occurred to me yesterday, before pain caused all thought to leave my brain, that I haven’t read Dragon since I wrote it last year.

I’m thinking that Dragon is going to be the first of last year’s novels to get a major revision.  In my world, this means reading it slowly, analyzing each page and mutilating it with the hope of making it better.  As I discovered with Butterflies, this is not an easy task when I get hooked into the book and just want to know what happens next.  It might work out better if I just read it through first, then go on the sentence-mauling spree I have planned.

Dragon just got priority of place in my reading list.  I’m sliding it in after the last H.P. book (which I’m reading now) and before I start another series.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pete Denton
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 14:37:59

    I like to leave my work alone for a prolonged period to really objectively read it. I like the ‘sentence-mauling spree’ sounds appropriate to what we need to do. I hope you get it how you want it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

