Search Terms

Last week I had a random spike in visitation.  The primary search term that led people to the blog was “making words from random letters” and the post that got the most hits was titled the same.

My best guess is that people were looking for help with Words With Friends…

The post is really about license plates, and trying to add letters in between the existing letters to make words.  That does make me think, though, that if you could come up with some really good advice on how to rearrange letters into words you might have a very popular post.

The next time I fire up Words With Friends I’ll have to pay attention to just how I come up with the words that I play.  Maybe there is some logic involved that would help all those people who are searching for help.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ben
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 13:34:49

    I’m finding a similar pattern, where a single post leads to a spike in people visiting the blog but who are clearly searching for something totally different than what I wrote. Odd.

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 16:01:14

    Maybe the takeaway here is that bloggers in want of crazy one-time traffic should start naming their posts after celebrities and hot-topic world events.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

