Living Computerless

I am temporarily computerless.

The power cord for my laptop has decided it is done.  It would like to retire.  I’ve ordered a new one (it should be here in a few days) and I can use the internet at friends’ places and on breaks at work, but it is weird being disconnected at home.

Do you realize how much you do on the computer?

I pay bills, look up addresses and phone numbers, download knitting patterns, and play games with my friends.  I blog, and write, and manage my music collection.  I wanted to go to a different electronics store (for a second shot at buying an adpater) and had to ask someone how to get there, since I couldn’t access the internet.

I was planning to start my preliminary revision of Dreams, but I can’t since it only exists as a digital file at the moment.  I’ll work on Dragon instead, since at least the first draft is printed.

Here’s hoping my adapter arrives soon…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 20:52:46

    Tragic! Ah, well — you’ll appreciate your computerful life all the more when it’s blessedly returned to you.

    Reply

  2. Joan Chandler
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 23:34:40

    Ah! That is sooo frustrating, isn’t it? Lightning struck a pole on the corner across from our house recently and it fried my home computer (even though we had surge protectors). Fortunately I had important things backed up on an external hard drive. But still, I miss my old computer. The new one is just not the same. Let’s hope the postman arrives soon with your package!

    Reply

  3. WhitneyCarter
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 16:31:41

    I’ve gone through three cords since I got my laptop three years ago. They seem to be the thing that thinks it works the hardest, lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

