A Look Back at 2011

It’s once again time to take a look back at what the year has held.  (Where did the year go?)

This past year has been much better than the last one.   Let’s start with writing first.  In 2011 I wrote a blog every day but two (and I shake my fist at you, March 12 and December 9).  I finished a short story (With Honor) and two novels (Dragon Pendant and Life in Dreams), one of which was the result of my first successful NaNoWriMo!  I also e-published The Queen’s Butterflies, which has now sold at least 28 copies.  Not a bad year, as far as writing goes!

In my personal life, 2011 turned out to be a fun year.  I traveled to New York City, Dallas/Fort Worth, Arkansas, Minnesota, Illinois and East Texas, all in one year!  I learned to knit well enough to make Christmas gifts for my dad and sister (with one on the way for mom).  I read 35 books and National Geographics, which is lower than my average but understandable with all of the writing going on.  My social life expanded, too, as my circle of friends got a little more active, and I even started dating someone.  I also lost 20 pounds and won a weight-loss challenge at work, although a few of them have snuck back on in the last couple of months.

Work can also get a nod in my review of the year.  I attended three workshops for my favorite professional organization and presented at two of them.  I successfully nurtured two more major projects to fruition, and my department has stayed mostly intact and very stable.  I love my job, and it’s been a good year there.

There aren’t a lot of negatives to review, and they are small in their impact.  My divorce was finalized, which seems bad but was really a relief to have finished.  I’ve been really tired, probably because I’ve been so very busy, and I’ve had some small struggles with my finances.  (I’ve been trying unsuccessfully to find a second job – apparently I’m overqualified and underqualified at the same time.)

All of these are minor compared to the positives in my life this year, and I am looking forward to another great year in 2012!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 17:17:04

    Always great to look back on an old year and see a lovely imbalance of highs and lows (with highs coming out on top, of course!).

    Reply

  2. Joan Chandler
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 18:29:21

    I enjoyed this post. First of all, congratulations on all your achievements in 2011. Sounds like it was a very good year indeed. Secondly, keep the faith about your writing career. You and I are similar in that we’re both writers. I have 4 completed manuscripts and several others that are partials. But my first novel is finally due to be published early next year. That first acquisition by a publisher was years in the making, but SOOOO worth waiting for! I applaud you for going the self-pub route. Mine is an e-pub but with the option for paperback in late Spring.

    I believe all the success you’ve had in 2011 is just a primer for next year! It will be no holds barred! Congrats!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: But That Means I Have to Blog Tomorrow… | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

