A Book Addiction

I remembered tonight why I don’t go into bookstores, at least with the intent to purchase.

Usually when I go into one, I have the “don’t buy anything” mentality that keeps me limited.  (It doesn’t keep me to nothing, but I do typically manage to get out with only one paperback.)  Tonight I went in armed with the gift card that I was given by my best friend.

I spent a little more than the gift card.

To be fair, I did purchase the 2012 Novel & Short Story Writer’s Market, which I needed.  I was going to purchase this anyway, as my old copy is now very out of date and I am planning to start sending queries out again after the first of the year.  This was a somewhat pricey but necessary purchase and shouldn’t really count towards my gift card.  The original plan (before I got the gift card) was to use some of my royalties from The Queen’s Butterflies to buy it.  Reinvesting the book money into getting the book published is a good idea.

I also put down several books that I noticed, and I kept myself from even looking at several of my favorite authors, knowing that I was already in excess of my gift card.  I do have some self-control, but all of this only reinforces that I am a book addict.  There is a piece of advice given to new authors that I don’t really have to worry about: read a lot.  I think I have that one taken care of.  🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole W.
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 07:42:41

    Hello, from a fellow book addict. In years past, I have been known to pool all my Christmas and birthday money so that I could go on a major book shopping spree at the end of the year.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Dec 27, 2011 @ 17:16:14

      I must admit, I had a meager $13 left over from the money I was given for shoes (the purpose was clearly designated) which I added to the book fund. I may have gone shoe shopping first on purpose… 🙂

      Reply

  2. Laura Wise
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 09:20:50

    I have to do the same thing. I purposely avoid going into bookstores because I always end up spending more money than the gift card I have, or have allotted to spend. I’m only allowed in there with supervision now, or a very specific list of what to pick up. Browsing is OK, but very dangerous 🙂

    Reply

  3. deshipley
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 20:33:53

    Leaving a bookstore emptyhanded is terribly hard. I’ll usually try to restrict myself to gift cards and cash, because once the debit card comes out, anything can happen. Book lovers, know thy limits!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

