2012, Year of the Revision

I was discussing writing with a friend last night.  She’s a writer, too, and we started by talking about NaNo.  In the course of our conversation about e-books and novels, something occurred to me.

Next year will be the year of the revision.

I have three major revising projects to tackle.  I want to get the short stories that are set in the world of Butterflies compiled into a collection, plus I need to attack Dragon and Dreams.  The first major revision is always the messiest.

Of course, I’m also hoping to write at least one novel in 2012.  (Yes, I am going to start working on Chasing again!  The more people read Butterflies, the more I need to work on the sequel.)

What are your writing goals for the new year?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 22:44:07

    I’d like to have the novel I just started the other day in decent shape by the end of January. (A hefty goal, but if I can put in the hours, it may get done. Here’s hoping.)

    I also plan to find out how to write a script for a stage musical, because I wrote a novel a while ago that I feel begs to be adapted for broadway.

    And other novels demand to be written, though I don’t know what they are, yet. Maybe I’ll finally get around to finishing that book inspired by Greek mythology. There will doubtless be short stories, too — and songs galore, if my inner minstrels have any say.

    Oh, yeah — and blog pieces. Gonna have to write plenty of those…

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Dec 19, 2011 @ 19:25:20

      It sounds like you have ambitions plans for 2012!

      Of course, I didn’t mention blogging. I haven’t decided if I’m going to continue the every day posting goal from 2011. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

