Compliments from Strangers

Some compliments count more depending on the source.  If a stranger admires your haircut, it might not be as significant as when your mom compliments it.  Sometimes there is one person whose thoughts count more.  I always wanted my sister’s opinion on my choreography; other’s reactions were wonderful, but she was my key person.

When it comes to my book, though, a compliment from someone I’ve never met, who has no investment in me or my life, seems more significant.  Yes, it’s awesome that my family liked my book; I know they would have told me if they hadn’t been able to finish it.  But strangers don’t care if they offend me, so they aren’t going to sugarcoat their responses.

Today my boss came up to me to share a comment from her sister, who just finished reading Butterflies.  She said, “Tell Leigh Townsend that her book was amazing.  If she writes any more, I want to read them.”  I was so pleased!  The fact that people I don’t know are reading and enjoying Butterflies makes me happy.  It’s a good sign!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate Ferguson Writes
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 18:18:24

    🙂

    Reply

  2. georgefloreswrite
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 18:56:13

    Oh yeah! That is good to hear 🙂

    Reply

  3. YerMom
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 08:15:30

    That is Very Cool! I’m sure there are more comments like that in your future!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

