Reading Fiction Again

I started reading The Help two days ago.  It occurred to me that I could read fiction again, now that Life in Dreams is done, and this one has been languishing on my “to read” pile since August.

I forgot how addicting it is to read fiction.

I may have stayed up later than was wise reading for two nights running.  With non-fiction, I tend to put it down when my eyelids droop.  With fiction, especially intriguing books like this one, I’ll ignore the sleepiness until it’s way past my bedtime.  Reading fiction again after a long break is like eating ice cream again after being on a diet.  It’s wonderful.

I’ll give up fiction again soon, when I start revising the laundry list of writing I have to address.  For now, though, it’s my holiday treat.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 23:11:13

    Hope you are enjoying it–loved it and read too late with it too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

