Writing While Distracted

Some people can write with a million things going on around them.  Some people, like fellow blogger Ben, need music to write; quiet doesn’t suit them.  I am not these people.

I can develop story anywhere, at any time, with anything going on.  I cannot, however, get it on paper with any other distractions.  If I’m writing a novel or story, forget music and don’t even think about television.  It’s not going to happen.  Sometimes I can blog with other things going on, but not often.  At work I manage to tune out the people around me when I need to write, but a lot of that writing comes from the surface of my brain.  Creative writing comes deeper, and I need to be able to reach in there and hear myself.

That, I think, is what it comes down to.  I am an auditory person; when I write I hear the words in my head.  If I am hearing other things, focusing on the words inside is harder, if not impossible.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3by3 writing method
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 17:52:08

    i agree. I need quiet with nothing going on in the room. I believe the people using distractions while writing, are distracted.

    Reply

  2. Ben
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 18:59:46

    Thanks for the mention! I think the most important thing, music or not, is finding what works for you.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: NaNo 2013 Advice, Part 1 | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

