Texas Renaissance Festival!

I love the Renn Faire.  I’ve gone every year since I graduated from college.  Some years I’ve gone more than once!

I went on Sunday to the Texas Renaissance Festival.  It’s so much fun!  I got a tiny henna butterfly done on my wrist, in almost the same place as I plan to get a commemorative tattoo once Butterflies takes off.  (The tattoo is a reference to a part of the story.  If you want to know more, read the book!)  I ate tasty Faire food – my favorite is sausage on a stick – and I watched several fun shows.  I went to the bird show (of course) where I predicted every single bird before it was brought out simply based on the Royal Falconer’s description.  After three years I finally gave in and bought a CD of Tartanic, the only musical act at the Faire that I make it a point to watch.   And of course, no visit to the Texas Renaissance Festival is complete without attending the Dead Bob Show.  I believe it is a requirement before you are allowed to leave.

There are many moments in my stories that draw inspiration from the Faire.  Dragon has two entire sections that take place at a fictional Faire, and the concept for the book itself was inspired by a necklace that I purchased at the very first Faire I attended.  (I stopped by the booth where I bought the necklace eight years ago.  The two guys I talked to were excited that I’d written a story inspired by their work, and asked me to let them know when it was available.)  I’ve gotten ideas for clothing from costumes I’ve seen on people and for sale.  There’s even a fight scene in Butterflies with a defensive move that I learned at a Faire!

It’s always a good place to visit as a fantasy author.  Great people watching, great fun, and a wealth of possible inspiration!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Nov 25, 2011 @ 16:50:27

    Ren Faires for the absolute win! The Bristol Renaissance Faire in Wisconsin has been my annual go-to for, oh, maybe five or so years, now, and I love it to death.

    You’re right on the money — the Faire is indeed a wealth of inspiration. The costumes, the jewerly, the music, the shows… and it was my first sighting of Bristol’s Robin Hood and company that led directly to my penning of “The Ballad of Allyn-a-Dale”.

    So glad to hear you got your recent Ren fun fix. You’ve got me wriggling with excitement for next summer already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

