A Few Hundred Words Behind: A NaNo Update

I have spent the entire week behind on my word count.  The irritating thing is that every day I’m only a little bit behind.  Two hundred words one day.  Eighty words another.  I recover, I get past those words and onto the next day’s word count, only to end up still a little bit behind.

Thank goodness it hasn’t been cumulative.

To be fair, I was really sick this week.  I was absolutely miserable last Wednesday and I was lucky to get the 400 words that I did that day.  After going to the doctor, it turned out that I have (had, hopefully!) ‘walking’ or atypical pneumonia.  A round of antibioticslater and my cough is much reduced and my appetite is back.  And I’m still a little behind on my word count.

There’s something every week, right?  Second week I had a conference, but I recovered with a 4000-word day.  Third week, pneumonia, but I scraped through.  This coming week is Thanksgiving and my dad is visiting.  I know he understands and appreciates the writing; here’s hoping that he’s willing to let me vanish for a bit every day so I can keep up the word count!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Nov 22, 2011 @ 18:45:37

    There are probably very few “good” times to get pneumonia. NaNo isn’t one of them. Rest up as well as writing like a madwoman will allow, missy!

    Reply

  2. Nicole W
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 03:44:52

    Hope you and your dad have a good holiday, and don’t work too hard. Hope you get to feeling better.

    Reply

  3. YerMom
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 07:54:59

    How did I not know you had pneumonia????
    Glad you are feeling better.
    LYM!!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Sighing at a Blank Page | Butterflies and Dragons
  5. Trackback: The First of Many | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

