Can’t Sleep? Might as well write…

I thought about scheduling this post for the future, but decided against it.  It can either bump the real post for today to another day, or it can be a bonus post.  (I haven’t decided that part yet.)

It’s 2:30am, and I’m writing a blog post.  I have to work tomorrow, or perhaps I should say today, but I can’t sleep.

Here is the problem: I got home late because I worked weird hours yesterday.  After I ate and showered, I took my laptop to bed to get some of my daily word count done.  (That was at about 10pm.)  I got to a point where I could stop writing and discovered that I had reached 30,000 words – and 12:30am.  Ok, great, there’s still time to get some sleep.  But now my brain is awake.

I tried some cotton candy TV (fluffy and with no nutritional value), which usually lulls me into sleep.  I felt my brain quieting, returned to bed, and the hamster that is in my mind said, “Nope, not sleepy after all.”  There goes the wheel again, spinning away.

Finally, after fighting it for over an hour, I decided that if I was going to be awake, I might as well get some writing done.  After all, it’s mostly story stuff keeping me awake anyway.  I started by putting together the second comma blog for Sunday.  Now I’m writing this really rambling late night blog.  If this hasn’t quieted the mind, I’ll get some more work done on Dreams.

If I can’t sleep, I might as well get something accomplished, right?

Leave a Reply

