Another Reason I Like Fantasy

I have discovered yet another reason to write fantasy: days of the week.  (Look, a colon!)

What do days of the week have to do with writing fantasy?  In Dreams I have two characters.  One lives in a fantasy world, while the other lives in a modern world not unlike our own.  I realized in the writing process that a real-world character who has a job and is making appointments to visit a variety of healthcare professionals cares about what day of the week it is.  I mean, the sleep clinic is not likely to schedule a sleep study that runs from Saturday evening to Sunday morning, right?  And if she’s going to sleep through a work day, I’d better set it up so that the day she sleeps through is a weekday.  Missing an entire day has less of an impact if it’s a Saturday.

These are somewhat irritating considerations, really.  In a novel that is strictly fantasy, these type of timeline questions are less common.  A peasant or a princess doesn’t really care if it’s Wednesday or Saturday.  Their lives are more season driven and less calendar focused.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the story of Dreams and it wouldn’t work without the modern-world character.  I just didn’t realize that I would have to keep track of her life in the same way that I keep track of my own!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 17:55:59

    Lol, I’ve scarcely noticed this, but now that you mention it, it’s very true!
    And congratulations: I don’t think I’ve ever been so irrationally pleased to see a colon in all my life. XD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

