NaNo Adventure, Day 1

While NaNoWriMo may eat my brain for the month, I realize that most of you probably don’t want my blog posts to descend into the realm of daily word counts.  I figure a weekly update on the adventure is more than enough to give you the opportunity to encourage me and follow along!  Plus, with the writing craze, I should have more material for blog posts anyway, right?

The goal for participating in my first NaNo is simply to get writing again.  As I mentioned before, I am driven by a challenge and the inspiration had already started flowing once more.  Today I had a day off from work (which I took for potential Halloween recovery, before I knew I was going to participate in NaNo) and so I started the story.  Some quick math gave me a goal of about 1700 words a day, although I’d rather just write as much as I have if there are more words in my head.  I’ve never been quite so obsessed with the “word count” total at the bottom of Microsoft Word!

I know, I know, at this point you’re getting curious: how did Day 1 go?  What is my current word count?  While I plan to (maybe) write some more this evening, I’m happy to tell you that my current word count is 3376!  I’ve written almost two days’ worth already, although the further ahead I can get, the happier I’ll be.  Honestly, if I can finish before November 30, I will be a very happy girl.

If you’re starting your NaNoWriMo adventure for this year, I hope your words are flowing and your novel is growing!  For the rest of you, I promise to keep my NaNo obsession limited to Tuesdays, at least on the blog!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 17:32:33

    Oh yes, that MS Word word-count feature can look forward to getting a lot of attention this month, little doubt.
    Way to start your NaNo adventure strong! Harness that kind of momentum whenver you’ve got it; you’ll be glad for the breathing room by the month’s midpoint. (:

    Reply

  2. storymultiverse
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 19:45:17

    Congrats on a very productive day! Here’s to many more to come!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: NaNo Update, Day 1 | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

