Contemplating a Challenge

As you all (probably) know by now, my creative juices have been fermenting in the back of my mind’s refrigerator lately.  I’ve tried a variety of things to get them flowing again, and nothing seems to have worked.

I’ve found a possible challenge that could get things moving once more: NaNoWriMo.

If you are unfamiliar, those letters stand for National Novel Writing Month, also known as November.  The challenge is to write at least 50,000 words between 12:01 am on Nov 1 and 11:59pm on Nov 30.  This is a quantity, not quality effort.  Just get a novel on paper.

I haven’t signed up yet, but I have a few more days before the challenge starts to decide.  I am the kind of person who loves a challenge – just look at the summer weight loss challenge that my coworkers and I did!  I was hardcore, lost almost 20 pounds, and won!  So maybe the challenge of writing a novel in a month is exactly what I need to get writing again.

Have any of you participated in NaNoWriMo before?  Do you think participating is a good idea?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. georgefloreswrite
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 20:29:03

    I wish you luck! It sounds like pressure helps you. I’m the opposite on that, plus I have a big house move to complete, so I won’t be participating.

    Reply

  2. georgefloreswrite
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 19:34:15

    Thank you, I could use some. What a chore!

    Reply

  3. deshipley
    Oct 29, 2011 @ 10:15:34

    NaNo’s a blast! I participated for the first time last year and, writing-wise, had the time of my life. Spitting out 50K words in a month was a wild ride; hanging around with all the other “Wrimos” on the NaNo site’s forums was a party; having that completed (minus, of course, some editing) novel at the end of it all was a triumph; and I can say without exaggeration that that November 2010 changed my life, both in my writing and as regards a cherished, now year-old friendship.
    Two words, for all those looking for my opinion on the matter: Do NaNo!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Writing To Do List « Butterflies and Dragons
  5. Trackback: Sighing at a Blank Page | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

