Dismantling and Reassembling

I completely dismantled my parrot’s cage last night.  I’ve taken parts of it off before for cleaning, but it was due for a major scrub.  As I put the thing together, I knew I could take it apart without needing instructions on how to put it back together.  Even the largest pieces fit into my bathtub, making it a relatively easy thing to clean.  After a long overnight soak, all of the bits of food and bird poop rinsed off quite nicely.  A few of the pieces are still drying, but what I’ve put back together looks so much better.

I’m planning to do the same to Dragon, starting in the next few days.  The first revision is very like cleaning the bird’s cage, as I really have to tear it apart and rebuild it in many ways.  I know there are some major changes that I need to make based on the feedback from my First Readers.  I also haven’t looked at it in months (which was kind of the point) so I’ll be able to revise it more effectively.  Fresh eyes make it easier to find the gaps in the story and the grammar issues in the writing.

Revising is always an interesting process, and it should be fun to visit the world of Dragon.  This was the story that was frantic to be written, after all, so it should be fun to take it up again.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 13:21:10

    Not to sound like a creepy spammer, Leigh, but there’s happy news for you over at my blog.
    http://everonword.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/versatile/
    Congratulations in advance. (:

    Reply

  2. Bill Greeves
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 16:53:18

    Good luck on the editing! I have been amazed at how much I could chop in some places and add in others as a result of a fresh read after a few months of not looking at the ms!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

