A Camping Craving

About six months ago I took a solo jaunt into the woods for some camping, hiking, and writing.  It was amazing, and if you weren’t here for it, you can read about some of the adventures in previous posts, starting with this one.

It seems that I get camping cravings about every 6 months.  The newest one reared its head today.  I’m not sure what it is that I’m craving.  Is it the time in nature?  Is it sleeping outside?  Could it be the brief escape from life and people? (This last one seems especially likely at the moment, as most humans have been getting on my nerves lately.)

October may seem late to go camping, but remember that I live in Texas.  It’s 9:20 pm and the temperature outside is currently 75 degrees – it was 86 for most of the afternoon.  The weather will make its annual dramatic shift soon, though, so if I want to get my behind into the woods I’d better do it quickly.

Maybe camping will once again spark the writing?  I was almost prolific on my last trip!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. georgefloreswrite
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 00:04:44

    Hey, as long as you’re safe, go do what you need if it helps get you writing. I’d like to get away from people, but I have a terrible addiction to toilet paper and hot running water. How long do you stay out there?

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 17, 2011 @ 14:55:58

      I usually camp in state parks, where I can park next to my campsite and within walking distance of the bathroom (where the toilets, sinks, and showers are). I typically only go for one night, but last spring I made a big trip of it and was gone two and a half days. Much more than that and I start getting antsy. 🙂

      Reply

  2. georgefloreswrite
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 17:53:09

    That doesn’t sound so bad, in fact it sounds tempting. No need to suffer withdrawal from my habits 🙂 Thanks for answering.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

