Lack of Experience

I’ve been trying recently to find a part-time job.  It’s not that I need it to survive, but I’d like to pay off some debt faster than I would be able to with just my full-time job.  I figured a few nights a week working retail wouldn’t be too hard on my sleep schedule and would help me make a little more money.  (Plus, doing mindless tasks or waiting at a cash register are great ways to get me creative juices working again.)

Unfortunately, I do not have the right experience.

Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I have no experience.  I have a lot of experience with a lot of different things.  The problem is that I have never worked retail.  In this situation, a college student who worked at Target in high school is a more qualified candidate than me, graduate school grad with nearly 10 years experience working in my career field.

I’ve finally thought of a couple of places I can apply where my career experience might count for something.  Perhaps when I get those applications submitted I’ll finally get a nibble.

Leave a Reply

