A story in need of a plot

On Friday I mentioned that an old idea for a story had resurfaced.  It’s a cool idea, although probably not novel-length, and I’m starting to work out some of the details.

The problem is that I need a plot.

I love my characters, and every story I’ve written has started with the people.  As I get to know the characters I find their story.  For my new concept, the interesting thing about the two main girls is their connection to one another.  This connection is the thing I want to explore with the story, although it isn’t really a plot on its own.  In Butterflies, in Dragon, even in my short stories, the characters’ problems led to a clear idea of a plot.  In this one their connection doesn’t necessarily guarantee conflict or a problem to be resolved.

Perhaps it will just take some fleshing out of their world to find the bigger picture for these two.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robholts
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 14:47:49

    Good luck with your search for plot. I have a similar problem with a short story. Have a great character and situation, but it has not led to a clear plot yet.

    Reply

  2. EJ Lavoie
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 14:58:57

    Is you character’s name Delilah?
    Very well, then. Here is the Raymond Chandler solution: The story begins this way . . .

    “When Delilah turned around, he stood there with a knife in his hand.”

    Reply

  3. deshipley
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 20:41:54

    Sounds like you and I’ve got similar process styles way back at the drawing board. So often I begin with a Who, and am left looking at a big Now What?
    It’s a fun way to start a journey. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

