Words of Wisdom Wednesday

Continuing the tradition started last week, let’s do first sentences from novels!  I like short, intriguing first lines.  Here are my three:

“What does it mean to be good?” Kushiel’s Scion by Jacqueline Carey

“Always at the heart of my life there has been fire.”  Winter of Fire by Sherryl Jordan

“It was an odd-looking vine.” Wizard’s First Rule by Terry Goodkind  (Goodkind has a lot of good first sentences, I have to say!)

Your turn!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pat O'Neal
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 06:46:14

    I AM BORN “David Copperfield” by Charles Dickens

    Reply

  2. Nicole W.
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 10:10:23

    “ ‘I’ve seen through his eyes, I’ve listened through his ears, and I tell you he’s the one.’” Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.
    I know it is not short, but it is the most intriguing first line of a novel I could find. I guess that is what I get for reading mostly sci-fi novels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

