Words of Wisdom Wednesday

Inspired by a variety of recent occurrences, I’d like to start a new tradition.  This isn’t exactly a series, but I will try to do this on Wednesdays at least a couple of times a month.  And guess what!  It’s interactive!

I like quotations.  (Apparently “quotes” are the little symbols around that word, not a saying.)  What I’m planning to do is use a theme or context for them, post a couple that I like that fit, and then open up the floor for your favorites (within the appropriate theme, of course).  Sometimes we’ll do books, or poems, or even music and movies.  Before you argue, those are technically written documents as well; songs are sung poems and movies are performed plays.

This week, in honor of my main inspiration for this concept, the theme is “Things you’d really like to say but can’t” and the context is song quotations.  All of mine are from Sara Bareilles’ album Kaleidoscope Heart and they are directed at a variety of people.  The song title follows the quotation.

“I’m not the girl that I intend to be.  But I dare you darlin’, just you wait and see.  But this time not for you, but just for me.” (Gonna Get Over You)

“I’m not the one who went and made a mistake.  I want to walk away too.  But I want you to say you’re sorry.”  (Say You’re Sorry)

“Stand in line wasting all of your time just to hate me.  Every dime gone to ways you can find that might bait me…  You love to be somebody’s enemy.”  (Machine Gun)

Ok, your turn!  Song lyrics you wish you could say to someone – go!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pat O'Neal
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 06:36:36

    Well I’ll have to think of about a couple of more but the one that jumps right out there for me is Tennesse Ernie Ford’s 16 tons “if you see me coming better step aside a lot of men didn’t a lot of men died” Now I’ll try to think of others while I’m singing that one at work.

    Reply

  2. Nicole W.
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 10:01:02

    “It has to be so lonely to be the only one who’s holy. It’s just my humble opinion, but it’s one I believe in. You don’t deserve a point of view, if the only thing you see is you. You don’t have to believe me, but the way I see it, [the] next time you point a finger I might have to bend it back or break it off. Next time you point a finger, I’ll point you to the mirror” (Playing God, Paramore)

    “There’s no need to apologize, I’ve got no time for feeling sorry” (Feeling Sorry, Paramore)

    “Who cares if you disagree? You are not me. Who made you king of anything?
    So you dare tell me who to be? Who died and made you king of anything?” (King of Anything,Sara Bareilles)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

