Notepad by the Bed

I recently went through all of the belongings in my apartment and got rid of a lot of stuff.  In the process I discovered that there were a few shelving units I didn’t need.  There was also some space being occupied by stuff that was now empty.  This gave me an opportunity to do something a little different.  (Are you predicting where this is going?)

Almost all of my furniture was rearranged.

This is a good thing, since it opens up my space quite a bit more and makes a few things more user-friendly.  (The chair and matching footstool really should be next to each other, don’t you think?)  Last night, however, I discovered one small problem.  My desk is no longer in my bedroom.

The reason this is a problem is that my brain is often creative and active right before I sleep.  There is an easy solution to this: write down whatever it is that is hamster-wheeling in my mind.  When my desk was near my bed, that was easy.  Last night I discovered that walking out to the desk requires a lot of light and movement which gets my brain running even more, ruining the effectiveness of recording my thoughts.

Obviously there is now a pad of paper and a pen that live permanently on my bedside table.

Leave a Reply

