My Favorite “Friends” Quote

I find it humourous when words get switched accidentally in conversation. For example, calling a forest “carnivorous” instead of “coniferous” or “textile” instead of “tactile.”  As a person who sometimes thinks faster than she talks, I have been guilty of this enough that it tickles me whenever it happens, to me or to others.  (Of course, I have to be careful.  Giggling at the humor of the slip can sometimes be mistaken as laughing at someone’s error, and that is not my goal.)

My favorite word misunderstanding is also my favorite quote from the TV show Friends.  It’s from an episode in season 7.  Here is the transcript, for your enjoyment.

Joey: “The big question is, does he like you? Right? Because if he doesn’t like you this is all a moo point.”
Rachel: “A moo point?”
Joey: “Yeah.  It’s like a cow’s opinion.  It just doesn’t matter.  It’s moo.”
Rachel: “Have I been living with him for too long or did that all just make sense?”

I love it because it makes total sense, but it’s totally wrong.  It also reminds me of when a little kid calls a fork with three tines a “threek.”  Also makes sense, but wrong.  Words are funny, and fun, that way.  Maybe that’s part of why I enjoy writing – it’s a little like playing with words.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emely Koehnen
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 00:44:54

    Love these quotes as I have my self a website with quotes about life. Thought it would be wise to share my favorite quote: “It’s the choices that make us who we are, and we can always choose to do what’s right.” – Peter Parker

    Reply

Leave a Reply

