The Secret Truth about Procrastination

I am a major procrastinator.  Typically when I put something off I don’t even really know the reason.  There is a funny little secret about procrastination that I learned today, though.

It builds on itself.

The more I put something off, the more daunting or less enjoyable it seems.  The task that was something simple that I simply didn’t want to do now becomes this growing monster that I have to finish.  The pressure makes it less likely that it will get completed.

Today I was reminded that when I do finally sit down to get a project done, it is never as big as it seems.  It’s a little like baking pie that way.  I just need to find a way to remember that, so the minor procrastination doesn’t turn in to major avoidance.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: A Sharply Worded Letter | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

