Running the Risk of Sharing Too Much…

With a title like that, you’re probably eagerly reading this post to see what juicy gossip I’m going to drop, aren’t you?

Sorry, no over-share today.

Instead, I’m pondering how much background to provide in Chasing.  It’s a sequel, so it is fair to assume that the reader has read Butterflies.  However, I want to write it as a valid novel on its own; this requires a bit more introduction to characters and previous happenings.

Some authors write a summary prologue that covers the required background knowledge.  (The nice thing about this is you can skip it without needing the reminder if you read the books back to back.)  Sometimes you’ll see books with introductory or review information included when we need it.  Others just leave it out entirely and assume you’ve read the first book(s).

When I started working on a scene with familiar characters, I found myself stumbling over how much to share.  This leads me to face the important decisions.  How much, if any, information am I providing?  If I am providing background, what am I sharing?  How is this information being passed to the reader?

So I’m going to turn to you, my lovely blog readers, for advice.  How much background “review” information do you want in a sequel?  Have you seen other authors who’ve handled this particularly effectively?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole W.
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 09:20:48

    Mostly through brief reflections, and maybe flash backs. Usually the only info that is given is that which is pertinent to the situation. Hope that helps.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

