Hitting the Publish Button

Pressing the “publish” button on a blog post used to make me nervous.  I’d double-check the preview, then check it again.  Does this read well?  Did I tag it and put it in a category?  Should I spell-check just one more time?

Now that I’ve written more than 300 posts, I get a little less nervous about that button.

Today I discovered a new “publish” button to generate anxiety:  I submitted The Queen’s Butterflies to Smashwords.

The biggest thing that gave me pause was my formatting.  If I hadn’t done it right, I would have gotten error messages and had to make changes before it could be put into the “premium catalog” and submitted to other retailers for sale.

Apparently I did an acceptable job, at least by the computer’s standards.  The book is still awaiting manual approval, but so far, no error messages!

So, if you’ve been impatiently waiting the release of my first novel as an e-book, you can get it for $3.99 at Smashwords.com.  If you’d rather purchase it through your favorite e-book retailer, you’ll have to give me a little patience.  I’ll let you know when it’s been cleared!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Wise
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 09:44:28

    Yay!! I’m so excited! I downloaded it last night and will be reading it this weekend!!

    Reply

  2. Barb
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:42:54

    Yay! Added your book to my Smashwords library, where I “save” all the books I want to read… and of course friends come first, so as soon as I read the 4 I have already downloaded, I’ll get yours! 🙂
    Congrats!

    Reply

  3. Nicole W.
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 09:41:12

    It’s definitely on my list. I will be buying it as soon as I can tear myself away from Richard and Kahlan. Also, I’ve been mentioning your book to my mom, and she plans on buying it, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

