Getting Wrapped Up in Reading (my own book)

There are two frequently heard pieces of writing advice that I believe are true.  1. Write what you know.  2. Write a book you want to read.

I was reminded again today that I was successful with that second one, at least with Butterflies.

I’ve figured out some more pieces about the new girl.  Two of those pieces required a bit of research in the text of Butterflies.  I do not currently have a hard copy of the novel in my possession (two of my coworkers each have one of my copies) so I loaded the document on my computer.  I searched for a specific term (Travelers) hoping to find the information I was seeking.  I read the first section about the character who is a member of the gypsy-like people, then found the second section.  Once I read that section, I had answered my questions, but I kept reading.  I ended up reading three more chapters before I convinced myself to stop!

It’s probably a good thing when you struggle to put down a book you wrote (and have read through at least three times).  It means you were definitely successful at writing a book you want to read!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. taureanw
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 10:33:07

    That is a very good thing. Usually by the time I have finished editing my work I’m unable to look @ it without putting it back under the microscope. 🙂

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jul 02, 2011 @ 20:47:00

      I sometimes have trouble focusing on the editing because I get so wrapped up in the story. I’m still not sure how I managed to do my major revision/re-write of Butterflies! This is one reason I am grateful for my readers. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

