So What Do I Write Now?

For the last several months, I’ve had either a persistent story demanding to be written or a serial with a looming deadline (or both) on my plate.  I’ve finished my short stories and Dragon is nearly done.  (I know, I know, it doesn’t count as done until it’s actually complete, and there’s that pesky fight scene left.  It’s close enough to ask the next question, though.) 

So what do I write now?

There are a multitude of possibilities.  One that I considered and then dismissed is “nothing;” writing has become a habit of sorts and if I quit, even temporarily, I’ll lose the habit.  This blog would also get kind of boring if I wasn’t actively writing.  That said, here are the likely candidates:

 – Chasing Butterflies : I could start working on the sequel to The Queen’s Butterflies.  I know a lot of people who would vote for this in a heartbeat; they want to know what happens to all of those characters!  One of the other positives of this is that I already have the basics of the plot outlined, and I know most of the characters pretty well.

A Dragon Short : Much like with Butterflies, there are several back stories that I know from Dragon that didn’t make it into the novel.  It might be fun to stay with these characters for a bit.  This would also provide another serial I could post for you!

 – A Butterflies Short : There are still several stories from the original Butterflies that I’d like to write.  Again, this could be a serial or become part of the short story collection I’m planning to put on Smashwords.

 – Something Entirely New : As of this moment, I don’t have anything new forming in my head.  I do have a new character that I can investigate, however, and I’m sure that if I decided to create something new it wouldn’t be long before my brain found some inspiration.

I also need to complete the e-book of Butterflies, although that’s not really a creative process so much as a formatting process.  Dragon also needs an excerpt from a scientific paper as an appendix.  Neither of these tasks will keep my writing mind busy for long.

So, now I’m going to turn this over to you, my lovely readers.  As you get to read about my adventures in the creative process, which one interests you the most? 

Knowing my brain, it probably won’t be the story I plan to work on that appears.  After all, Dragon was shelved for Butterflies short stories and sequel, but it decided that wasn’t going to happen.  The best I can do is start with a plan!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole W.
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 18:45:39

    I know I will be outvoted on this, but I vote for the Dragon short.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:01:23

      I’m guessing that’s so you can read the serial? 🙂

      Reply

      • Nicole W.
        Jun 24, 2011 @ 08:18:48

        That’s part of it. I guess the main reason is that we have seen a lot of the world that Butterflies is set in, but not much of the Dragon world. Also, I realy liked your first version of the story (the couple chapters that you posted, anyway). Don’t let me influence your decision, though.

  2. YerMom
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 07:20:33

    I vote for a Butterflies short or sequel:) However, I am intrigued with this new character.

    Reply

  3. Laura Wise
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 15:37:14

    My vote is for Butterflies short just because I’ve read the other related shorts while I wait with bated breath for Butterflies to become an e-book. I’m intrigued by the Dragon short, because I’m too far away to be a first reader. Really, I’m excited to see whatever else you can come up with! 🙂

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:54:23

      The e-book is coming soon!! Once Dragon is done, the formatting for Butterflies will follow shortly. At this point I’m really just waiting (and pestering the artist) for the cover art.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

