Sometimes I Love How Things Work Out

I am at a transitional point in the writing of Dragon, in more ways than one.  The action is moving from one world to another, the main character is transitioning into a new role, and most important to this post, my knowledge of the plot gets a lot more vague.

The second chapter I worked on today was fairly well outlined, but I had been hesitant to sit and write.  I think this was a subconscious response to having no idea what happens in the chapter that follows.  Of course, the chapter has to get written eventually; I have First Readers to think of, so I sat down and got the chapter out.  It flowed pretty smoothly once I started working.  Beyond that, I simply resigned myself to only having 2 chapters completed this week.

As soon as I finished the chapter, I started thinking about broad concepts for the next section.  My assumption was that, as happened before, I’d get some good big ideas for the next several chapters.  These could be developed gradually; what I really needed to know was what happens next.  Once I was thinking past the scene at hand, like magic, images from the next chapter started appearing and things began to fall into place.

Don’t you love how life works sometimes?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. taureanw
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 08:46:27

    Enjoy those good times before Mr. Writing Block shows up to ruin the party 🙂

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Jun 12, 2011 @ 15:34:58

      I know, right? Although my biggest problem isn’t exactly writing block, it’s more like writing ADD. My creativity decides another story is more interesting and won’t work on the one I want it to finish…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

