Fake Science

My creativity is often easily distracted.  After the discussion with one of my First Readers about writing a fake genetics research paper, guess what I started thinking about?  Yup, the made-up science paper.

I’ve decided it will be an appendix of the novel.  Instead of the whole paper, I’m creating an excerpt.  The topic of interest (human/dragon offspring) does not have enough data to produce an entire paper; it will be a side discussion in a paper about dragon hybridization instead.  Here’s the title of the fake paper: “Genetic analysis of the lack of hybridization in interracial crosses of Khai” by Spencer O’Neal, Ph.D. (Columbia University).  The journal containing said paper has yet to be decided.  (Khai is what the dragons are called in my novel, in case you were confused.)

Having a science background, I am capable of coming up with sentences like the following off the top of my head (this one is based on a discussion with a friend).  “Pine (1987) postulated that a Khai/human cross could lead to multiple generations of heterozygous individuals with a human phenotype and the potential to produce Khai offspring.”

That’s right, I said heterozygous.  🙂  There are science nerds out there (including one of my First Readers) who will appreciate the fake paper very much, and my brain is having fun creating it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole W.
    May 28, 2011 @ 09:42:05

    Hmm.., This nerd is intrigued and is wondering if any of us non-firsties will be getting a glimpse of this when you are finished.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      May 29, 2011 @ 17:19:29

      I’ve been thinking about posting some or all of the excerpt from the paper here so others can see it. It’s not top priority but I have been working on it a bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

