Write What You Know

Our stories grow out of our experiences.

One of the most common pieces of advice to new authors is to write what you know.  Start with something familiar, so even if the process is difficult, the content provides little resistance.  Of course, what you know might be a bit larger than you think.

I have an active imagination.  Little everyday things trigger the evolution of scenes in my mind.  I’ve often found myself driving between large vehicles on a crowded highway only to spend the next two miles inventing horror-movie car accidents that are highly unlikely.  The “what if” game is almost constantly playing in my head.

It should come as no surprise that the inspiration for Dragon Pendant is an actual necklace with a pewter dragon on it.  I purchased it at the very first Renaissance Faire I attended.  In wearing the necklace (a lot) a story started developing around it.  What if a dragon could take a human shape, and part of that shape included a necklace? Why would she keep the necklace on if it gave her away?  What if someone was a dragon but didn’t know?  My imagination took me for an adventure, and now I have a novel in the works.

What I know isn’t all real; some of it is simply invented by my brain.  It’s still familiar, something I know, so it counts.  🙂  Besides, who wouldn’t want to imagine that they could really be a dragon trapped in a human body?

Leave a Reply

