Becoming my own fan…

Recently, I was logged on to Facebook as my real-life self (as opposed to Leigh Townsend, my author self).  I was perusing the “recommended pages” it gives based on your existing “likes” and the “likes” of your friends.  One of my top recommendations was Leigh Townsend.

In case you didn’t know, I do have a Facebook fan page.  You too can be my fan!

At this point you’re probably wondering why I am not already my own fan.  There is a very good reason for this.  While most of my fans are friends and family, that is a public page.  Anyone can find it and view it.  My personal page, however, is set to private.  I am hoping one day to have more than 18 fans, and I would like to keep my author persona and my real-world persona separate if possible.

I don’t have any stalkers yet, but there is always the possibility.  Not to mention that my identity may not be worth much, but it’s the only one I’ve got.  I’d prefer not to have it stolen.

For these reasons I am not my own Facebook fan.  This should not prevent you from “liking” me on Facebook, though!  I don’t update it as often as the blog, but I do occasionally post interesting updates there.  Plus, if you’re reading my blog, it’s possible you’re a fan already!

Leave a Reply

